top of page
Writer's pictureJada Gant

Wasn't this supposed to end the pain: A short story about suicide

Below is a short story on the topic of suicide. Suicide is not a joke and actions will have consequences. If you are in need, call 988, a suicide and crisis hotline. Please get help before you make a decision you’ll regret.


My little sister got married and, although she said she never would her partner's love, changed her mind. Her dress was white, it had lace that fell off into a mermaid style she always wanted. The veil was laced with a print of beautiful flowers and mixed with hints of blue it was perfect. Watching Say Yes to the Dress as a kid prepared her for the moment where she would have to choose her wedding dress. The wedding color scheme was blue and white with hints of silver, which was no news to me since she had loved blue since the day she was born. The immediate guest stayed in a beautiful mansion two days prior to the wedding the ones who were close family or important to the success of the wedding day. The morning of the wedding was full of procrastinating because that’s what we’ve both done since we were teenagers. My mom did my sister's makeup highlighting her natural features that made her glow in a way I've never seen. It was an extravagant wedding with flowers decking the mansion inside and out. I probably counted thousands just standing there. People that I haven't seen in years flowed into the main halls of the mansion following the sound of soft jazz playing from the back yard to see where the reception was to take place. I never cry at weddings though I haven't been to many my sister walking down the aisle the first to be married made me tear up. The vows were not just empty promises but words from the heart that were meant. My sister was never the romantic type, due to bad examples she stayed away from romance to see her be able to say words of love she means makes me feel lightened. What most people called a reception turned into an after-party, the once jazz was now 90’s and 2000’s rap with hip-hop songs mixed in between. Music took control of everyone's bodies and letting it loose was the normality that night. The night was like no other; watching everyone's happy faces almost made me forget. I was sixteen, depressed all the time and stressed with school. My dad was never a part of my life and when I thought I could count on his replacement they left when I needed them most. My mom did her best. The tiredness I felt just made me weigh a ton mentally to the point of not being able to take it. Feeling my pain, I took my own life. At just sixteen years old I committed suicide and left my family and the world for good, not thinking about what I would miss or who would miss me. I left with no way back, I thought I was finally free. She’s twenty-nine now, my little sister, and all I could do was watch from a distance as she was surrounded by all the people who love her the most. Well, almost all. I tried calling her name and telling her I loved her and I'm sorry for leaving her, but it was pointless she couldn't hear me, and she never would be able to. I think I cried more tonight than I ever did at the everlasting age of sixteen.


________________________________________________________________________


Cover photo courtesy of SMHS.com


Jada Gant is a staff writer for The Lion's Roar. You can learn more information about the writer by clicking here.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page